Luvepoker

Luvepoker

Lost in the twilight zone
Community Guide
Total posts
Awards
US
Chips
Hi all. I have been playing poker for about 18 years now. I have done well and have a lot of knowledge of the game and theory but only in tournament play. Over the last month and 1/2 i have been playing cash games with very mixed results. I keep on hearing from cash game players that the game is different from tournament play yet nobody has been able to explain what that is. Yes the blinds don't go up and you can but more chips if you get knocked out but could someone please explain what other differences there is in the games? I just cant figure it out.

Misaki

Misaki

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
you mentioned the blinds so it's truth. On tournaments you play more with shallow stuck. On cash games you play most of the time on 100bbs. In tournaments there are too many players and mostly on every table you meet players with who you never played before. On cash games most of the players know each other so they have more informations on you, you need to be more balanced to be not exploited so the games are harder.

This Fish Chums

This Fish Chums

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Switching from tournaments to cash game

When switching from tournaments to cash game there are a lot of different nuances to keep in mind. I am not a cash game expert, but have mixed up my play between the two and here is what I have found that you need to consider in cash games more-so than in tournaments.