Mucking Rules... Should I have won???
I was in a situation tonight where I was heads up and my opponent mucked his cards after I flipped my cards over, but he quickly took his cards out of the muck and was still able to win half the pot as it was a split... Here's the situation:
At a $2/$5 table, I had J 10 hearts on the big blind, raise was $20 preflop... There was 1 caller and me, so 3 going into the flop... Flop came Q 10 8... I was first to act and bet out $30 (about half the pot)... One of them called me... Turn came another 8... I checked and so did my opponent... River came rag (like 3 or 4)... I checked again, he bet out $55... I called his bet and he said that he had a pair of 10s.... I then flipped over my J10 and he said "you got me" and threw his cards about a foot in front of him (in other words, he mucked), then literally 2 seconds later, he realized it was a split pot and took his cards back out of the muck and flipped over his 10-9 before the dealer even touched the cards...
I was wondering if that is legal what he did??? I even asked the dealer, but the dealer said he didn't muck... I believe I should have won the pot... The pot was a little over $200, so I believe I got screwed out of about $100... He had a friend at the table to defend him and everything... I look back and wish I would have called the floor over and let them decide instead of letting it go... Oh, well... Still made 6 bills tonight as there were plenty of fish.... What do you guys think?