• Thread starter TheCourtesyFlush
  • Start date
T

TheCourtesyFlush

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hello all. I'm posting a hand here instead of the hand review forum because I'm not actually looking for a review of the hand. This was a hand I played a few months ago, just a couple weeks after I started playing/reading about poker, and it's bad.

What I'm looking for is a review of my hand review. I'm trying to create a plan for each type of hand in each situation, then to get it to stick in my head, I'm doing hand reviews based on those plans. I'm primarily focused on post-flop, so that's all these reviews cover.

Sorry, I'm apparently incapable of writing short posts. I've mentioned it before, but I will here again. I'm autistic. It seems in reading forums on several different sites, a common answer to all microstakes questions is "You don't need to know that, just play tight and aggressive." I mention the autism because I don't learn that way, I need structure to learn things. Once I understand the basic structure of my lines and can create a postflop plan, I can learn to adjust it. So, here goes.

WPN, $0.02/$0.05 No Limit Hold'em Cash, 6 Players

SB: $6.87 (137.4 bb)
BB: $4.93 (98.6 bb)
UTG: $5 (100 bb)
Hero (MP): $5.15 (103 bb)
CO: $6.96 (139.2 bb)
BTN: $1.93 (38.6 bb)

Preflop: Hero is MP with A Q
UTG folds, Hero raises to $0.15, 3 folds, BB calls $0.10

Flop: ($0.32) 4 A 8 (2 players)
BB checks, Hero checks

Turn: ($0.32) 6 (2 players)
BB bets $0.23, Hero calls $0.23

River: ($0.78) 9 (2 players)
BB bets $0.37, Hero raises to $1.11, BB calls $0.74

Results:[spoil] $3.00 pot ($0.15 rake)
Final Board: 4 A 8 6 9
BB mucked and lost (-$1.49 net)
Hero showed A Q and won $2.85 ($1.36 net)
[/spoil]

Review:
Flop
Status: IP vs 1 SLP (28/0/1.3), 100bb Eff. St, SPR-16, TPGK on a dry board.
Goal: Either way ahead or way behind, so play in a way where it doesn't matter.
Summary: Villain checks, should C-bet 100% of time vs. a passive player.