Microstakes

W

wacko555

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Good day everyone,

I recently started playing cash games again after not playing it for a couple of years and only playing some tournaments when I had the time. Started right at NL2 and am now playing NL4 or 5 after about 25000 hands on NL2. Did okay enough. Managed a small win rate of 5.5BB/100. Know it is a very small sample, but the idea is to practise whilst keeping the losses down .

I used to be very nitty, but I am changing my playing style so my reasoning is to go and get comfortable playing a certain style right at the bottom and then go play a little bit higher.

First question is:

Am I wasting my time playing these stakes working on my game when it seems that you have to play very differently than when you move up a little? I am sort of a half LAG at the moment because it is more profitable for me flatting rather than 3betting the call stations.

My plan is to spend maybe another 20000 hands playing NL5 and then move up again if it goes well.

I have $300 in my bank roll so would it be better rather to go straight to NL10 and maybe do my experimenting there?

I feel there the level of player will be better and allow me to apply and test my strategy against players who think a level or two higher. Even if I lose I believe I will improve more than playing ABC poker at a lower limit.

Sometimes I feel like most of the studying I am doing does not apply to the stakes that I am playing at and playing there is detrimental to my growth as a player.

Is this flawed thinking and should I rather spend the next month grinding NL5 and only move to the next stake once I have a decent win rate?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Joe

Joe

99.98% Kiln dried
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
GB
Chips
Good day everyone,