Micros: Fish and Maniacs always seem to win.

J

JR1987

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Currently I have a VPiP of 20, PFR 18 and Agg 45.

I am new to poker but trying to study alot and focus on beating the micros before anything else.

I play tight and aggressively but I seem to be consistently beaten by the maniacs with VPiPs of 70+.

I always respect and believe the know how of experienced players, But the more money I lose to these guys the harder it is to keep the same tight style up. These calling stations that will go in with 5/6 unsuited and beat my pocket kings on the river, Or check/limp in with a 2c raise with a 3 Aces on the flop, How can you play against that? I find I play better when im more passive simply because I dont lose as much to these guys.

Entering a new table the fish almost always have more than the max buy in.

Im sure this gets brought up all the time. Its just hard when all the science doesnt match the reality (or at least my reality :))

LevySystem

LevySystem

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips

I am new to poker but trying to study alot and focus on beating the micros before anything else.

I play tight and aggressively but I seem to be consistently beaten by the maniacs with VPiPs of 70+.

The fish is allowed to do everything. It is up to us how we deal with it. Bet larger with value, go thinner for value and dont bluff these type of players.

T

ToothpickVic

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
If you're playing strong hands then variance will help you win out in the end.

TheGenera1

TheGenera1

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
They don't win. Trust me. I literally hunt these guys down, it's really the only strategy I use. If there isn't a fish at the table I just leave. They are big, big losers. Don't play like them.

mt2lhd

mt2lhd

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips