Micro stakes - dealing with "call everything" players

C

chongmet

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi,
I am a beginner. However, I have some knowledge about the game.
This question is about micro stakes and very beginner players:

How should I deal with players in micro stakes (0.02/0.05) that "dont know how to play poker" and they call every bet?
1) I had this hand K9s (of spades). I raised preflop. He called with 77.
2) Flop is 8d,10c,Qc and I have a straight draw. and there is a flush draw on the table.
3) I bet 33% of pot he calls.
4) Turn is another 10. he checks I bet 75% of pot. He calls
5) River is Ac (3 clubs on the table). I all-in. he calls.

He wins. But seriously, should have I played it differently?
How can he calls everything with only 77?

Not sure if this happens regularly in higher stakes...

F

fundiver199

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Against calling stations you should bet more for value and never run a big multistreet bluff. You should also do a lot of "one-and-done" C-betting on the flop, which this hand is a perfect example of. I like the flop C-bet, but the size is to small. You should bet at least half pot against someone like this.

A lot of the time he has missed, and he will then usually fold on the flop, if you size better. But when he gives action, you have to check back turn and then give up on the river, if you still have nothing. In this hand it would probably have gone check-check on the river, and then he wins a small pot at showdown. Which is completely fine.

C

chongmet

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Against calling stations you should bet more for value and never run a big multistreet bluff. You should also do a lot of "one-and-done" C-betting on the flop, which this hand is a perfect example of. I like the flop C-bet, but the size is to small. You should bet at least half pot against someone like this.