I thought I had learned to play at the micros... but maybe not?

J

JR1987

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
I started playing poker only about a month and a half ago.. But due to the way the world is now Ive had alot of time on my hands and alot of time to play.. So ive racked up about just under 15k hands so far (which I know in the grand scheme of things isnt alot).

As you can see on my bankroll graph at first I was absolutely haemorrhaging bb's every session. Usually losing at least one or two buy in's. I think alot of this was underestimating players, Thinking for some reason I was automatically better than them because I was reading all these online articles etc about the 'fish' at these tables.. and I think as the articles are always written from an 'us and them' perspective it makes you believe you arent a fish.. when at first, you very much are.

So I was always thinking they were bluffing, calling big bets with basically nothing but high card. If I did hit a good hand they usually had something better etc.

But after more studying the subject about the micros specifically I changed my game plan a bit and did alot more folding.. almost had the attitude that my opponent is basically never bluffing and to never really bluff myself. It seemed to work, Although my stats weren't exactly optimal e.g Vpip 23 / Pfr 13, never really 3 betting unless I had something like pocket Aces.. But my bankroll was shooting back up.

But in the last 3k hands or so I appear to have hit a bit of a wall, I have corrected my stats more now average vpip around 20-22 / PFR 17-18 / 3 bet 5% on averages and not just c-betting if I hit the flop.

Ive had some bad beats.. like my pocket aces hitting a set on the flop and getting beaten by 2/3 offsuit because villain hit a straight on the river (!) But I know now that is just part of the game..especially at the micros.