How much to bring to the poker table?

bubbasbestbabe

bubbasbestbabe

Suckout Queen
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
This part fo table strategy that I haven't seen dealt with much. How much do you bring to a table? Do you bring the max? Do you bring the minimum?
Each one has it's disadvantages and advantages on betting but I'm looking at it on table image later in the game.

When I go to a table I always check out the table stacks. This gives me some info as to who is the player to watch. But that can be a misnomer. Big stack doesn't necessarily mean good player. And vice a versa.

I usually bring in the minimum or just a little bit over. I try to give the image that I'm a noob. And sometimes I will throw away a couple of hands with donk play to reinforce that image. If I lose my original buyin then I will bring in 1/2 the max. And this is when I make my killings.

But bringing in the max has it's advantages too. You can build it to the big stack at the table with good play and be the big dog that everyone watches.

What's your prefences?

Lo-Dog

Lo-Dog

Cardschat Elite
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Depends on my mood. Mostly I will buy in for the max. I am confident enough in my game that I want as much money at the table as possible so I know if I hit a monster I won't run out of money to bet with.

Sometimes I will buy in for a little more than the min, pick a lucky number and bring that to the table. I have done this lately and I have had a good run but I could have made more had I brought the max. (you can lose more too but thats not the way to look at it! :))

Of course the flip side is that you can take a few chances knowing you only have so much to lose on a given pot if you take the min. I know some folks who always take the min and do fine but I guess I prefer to have a bigger stack.

Final thought: If you feel you are better than the others players you should do a max buy in.