Equity vs. Range Postflop

T

TheCourtesyFlush

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I'm working on Poker Workbook for Math Geeks and I've been doing a lot of exercises where you calculate equity of draws and pot odds, etc.

The question I have is, how do I do this when I have no idea what villain has but I've got a made hand? Is this where ranges and combo's come in? Also, I'm pretty new to poker, I'm running about break even at the microstakes, so is hand reading and combo's something I should learn now as part of a good base of knowledge, or is it something I should put off until I get better at more basic things?

Just as an example, Say I have As Jd vs a 18/12/3.0 and the flop comes up Ac Kh Th. If I was on a draw, I'd use the rule of 2 or 4 to know my equity then compare it to whatever pot odds I was calling, or giving to villain with a bet. But I've got a made hand here, so I can't use that rule. I don't know how to calculate the equity on a hand like this so I know whether I've got pot odds/implied odds to call/raise.

I'm just trying to use my study time wisely and that whole equity vs. a range thing seems pretty important.

Thanks for any advice.

TenJack

TenJack

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I think what you are looking for is called reverse implied odds. It is how much you figure to loose if, say, a queen hits on the turn. This might not be what you are talking about, but it is certainly something that comes into high level thought process and is important to know at higher stakes.

S

Sorin Iliescu

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Poker is a game of incomplete information. Because of this, you assign a range for the villain and try to see your equity vs his range with a solver. I would probably check if there was a 3bet preflop and bet if it wasn't

T

TheCourtesyFlush

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Use Equilab: How To Use Equilab (Free Poker Equity Calculator) | Poker Quick Plays - YouTube