Checking the nuts on the river (specific situation)
There have been topics on this rule before, but is it against the rules or discouraged in cash games, as well as tournaments? Because if so I can think of a rather unlikely, but extremely problematic scenario:
Let's say you're in live play at a venue that offers a bad beat jackpot. You hold the A of clubs, villain holds the 9...let's say pocket 9s. On the river, the board hits to give you a royal flush and villain a straight flush at the same time. Villain checks his straight flush, but he's been checking the whole way--not having anything but an underpair until the river--so you can't suspect that's what he actually has--but you do know that on the slight chance he does, you win the jackpot. I'm almost 100% sure bad beat jackpots have a rule that the hand has to go to showdown or it's doesn't count. In such a situation, NOT checking the royal here would be UNBELIEVABLY stupid...but if there is a rule against checking the nuts, would someone have to screw themselves out of the jackpot?
I mean...I don't even know that the rule even applies in cash games. Even if it's just "frowned upon" I guess people would be pretty understanding in a scenario like that.