[6-Max] x Tournament [9 players]

SRNegras

SRNegras

Rising Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Good morning people. I have been playing poker since 2016. I started for fun and today I intend to make this sport a little more than a hobby. I have faced great difficulties, mainly to control the psychological during the games.

I have some difficulties in a normal tournament (9 players), but when the game is a [6-Max] tournament it is a tragedy, my game doesn't flow and, in practically every game, I lose.

I would like to know from you what is the main difference between playing these two types of tournament [6-Max] x Normal [9 Players] and if you can give me tips on how to improve my game play [6-Max] ...

Thanks hugs!

C

crazycitizen

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Helloo,

Glad to hear you are taking poker more seriously :)

Main difference between 6max and 9max is starting hands. 9max will be a tighter starting hand range than 6max (mostly in early-mid positions). I suggest you look at some starting hand charts for 9max vs 6max to see the difference.

6max is also a much more aggressive game. So my advice would be to be more aggressive, and being less passive.
This does not mean to play every spot more aggressively, but by being more selective with hands and being more aggressive with them.

My general advise to learning such situations is by using the "never call" method.
Checking is fine but, when someone bets and the action is on you, you are only allowed to fold or raise. If you do not think your hand is good enough to raise, then you have to fold.
Calling puts you in difficult positions constantly, and calling should only be done when you have an advanced poker understanding.
Raising puts your opponents in difficult spots by contrast, and folding limits your losses.
This 'never call' method should make you lose small pots but be winning more big pots.