5NL - first impressions, correct or not?

LD1977

LD1977

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
OK so I started playing 5NL yesterday since my early tries showed that the players are not much better than 2NL.

I am getting destroyed due to some massive and fairly consistent suckouts, where I feel forced to fish tag these players but of course maybe I am wrong and calling pot bets with gutshots and calling preflop raises with ATCs is the way to go in 5NL.

So, there are my first impressions:
- Everybody limps and calls a raise with Axs, any 2 SC, and in many cases ATCs.
- People massively call cbets with any piece of the board, sometimes including total air.
- MORE calling stations than in 2NL (?!). People just don't fold one pair to multiple barrels, ever.
- Level of aggression is somewhat higher post flop but I didn't see that much bluffing (there was no need since these guys hit gutshots 80% of the time), only thing that stands out is that people bet nut FDs.

Does this strike you as correct or am I off the mark?

D

DunningKruger

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Sounds about right. 5NL isn't easier than 2NL though. I mean they're both full of piss poor play but I think your limited experience is skewed (and by "I think" I mean it's pretty obv if gutters are binking 80% of the time). If you're sufficiently rolled to handle days that go more or less as you describe here, you're do fine at 5NL imo.

These players who flat out refuse to fold you're noticing are a great reason to go big when you're betting for value. ½ pot in a lot of cases is leaving tons of $$ on the table.

If you end up sticking at 5NL you'll be able to play rush now too, and you may bump into me from time to time. Veyron was running last night for one of the very few times since the relaunch and the players in it didn't seem very comfortable with 3 or 4 handed play... heh. If it ends up being more active in the future I'm definitely going to play a lot more rush.

LD1977

LD1977

Legend