3bet Vs Pot bet

D

Daithi

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I was just wondering about this since I started practicing to improve my live game betting skills. I noticed that pot-sized seems actually better than 3 bet.

I read in articles that 3bet is more cost effective (less expensive), but I was wondering what your take on this is.

For example, and to keep it simple. $1$2 game. Full ring, Preflop.
Villain (LAG) UTG raises 3xbb (pot $9). Hero MP+1 with AKs.

Normally nowadays online or live, you'd 3bet for value. So Hero re-raises to $18. Everyone else folds. Villain is getting 2.25:1 or he needs equity of 31%. If he had TJs, he has 38.5% equity and technically could call. Local live game; no take.

Now, instead of the 3bet we pot bet. So instead reraise $18, it is $21reraise. Villain is getting 2:1 or 33%. I guess, that still isn't enough to give him bad odds. But in general, isnt a pot bet better than a standard 3bet?

Thanks.

IPlay

IPlay

Bum hunts 25NL
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Well either way you are 3 betting. The 3 part comes from the fact that we are raising a villains 2 bet by putting in the 3rd bet, so it is a 3 bet. It isn't a 3 bet because we are 3 xing. Just a coincidence.

With this said you are somewhat splitting hairs with these sizings. All in all I do like 3 betting slightly larger live since players call much more often.

D

Daithi

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Well either way you are 3 betting. The 3 part comes from the fact that we are raising a villains 2 bet by putting in the 3rd bet, so it is a 3 bet. It isn't a 3 bet because we are 3 xing. Just a coincidence.

With this said you are somewhat splitting hairs with these sizings. All in all I do like 3 betting slightly larger live since players call much more often.

Aha, yeah actually haha. But you know what I mean :). The sizings, it is advocated to raise 3x the bet from IP and (presuming no callers) and 4x from OOP (no callers).