Originally Posted by Jack Daniels
It means they are currently logged in and playing via the .net software. You could see them later without the star as well if they log in via the .com softward because it's possible to have both .net and .com software installed at the same time (for whatever reason).
One of the 'reasons' is that, like myself, I started playing on Stars with the .net version. After being on the site a little while, I decided to download the .com version for more playing options, even without depositing. Both versions are downloaded, I just no longer use the .net version and haven't removed it.
In essence, all Stars players have an account on both. When a user ID is taken, it is blocked for that user on both versions.