re: Poker & How To PLay
Originally Posted by skelly61
I had 2 7s pocket
You had 77 in the pocket or you had the 2 of spades and 7 of spades? Your notation is for the latter.
Your raise was okay, although you might have considered going to three or four times the big blind. Only raising by 100 chips might have caused your executioner to think you were weakly stabbing at the blinds. The small raise is not going to scare off AQ, but the rags aren't going to try and limp in behind it. When your opponent came over the top for 3k, however, the sevens shrunk considerably. Putting your tournament life at stake before the end of the first hour with sevens was probably ill-advised. (Remember the first rule of tournaments: Survive!) The 7's are a medium pair that loses to seven other pairs straight up, not to mention any two pairs on the draw. The exceptions would be if you were so short-stacked that you were forced to try and make something happen to avoid being blinded out, or you had gotten a read on your opponent that led you to believe he was bluffing
at the blinds. A huge part of learning to play good poker is learning how to pick your fights.