Originally Posted by K_Kahne_Fan
Probably. I do not recall that. I would ass-u-me that he mucked the cards to the dealer and then the dealer pushed the chip, as it typically happens. I don't usually see the chip push from the dealer, then a muck of cards.
As for collusion, that makes sense. So, all mucked cards could be shown (after a hand) if requested?
In fact you should never
surrender your hand until the dealer pushes you the pot, it falls under the rule of "protecting your hand". Live poker tip everyone: don't muck your hand until you get the pot !!
Not sure why this is so hard to understand regarding what cards you are allowed to see at the end, but I think this sums it up:
Originally Posted by WVHillbilly
From Robert's Rules of Poker:
Any player who has been dealt in may request to see any hand that has been called, even if the opponent's hand or the winning hand has been mucked. However, this is a privilege that may be revoked if abused. If a player other than the pot winner asks to see a hand that has been folded, that hand is dead. If the winning player asks to see a losing player’s hand, both hands are live, and the best hand wins.
In this case the river bet was not called so the dealer should have kept his/her mouth shut.
So again, I think you either
1. misremembered the call, in which case the dealer should have turned the requested hand over (after tapping it to the muck to kill it if requested by someone other than the winner) for everyone to see (not simply announcing what the hands were after peaking), or
2. misinterpreted the dealer as being serious. In any case, I just find it hard to believe that a trained dealer would do such a thing. Even if he was joking it's pretty close to unprofessional behavior, especially if it wasn't clear (obviously not) that he was kidding around.