SNG - Fold to Chip leader in the bb on the bubble?

E

eelsthefan

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
I just started playing $1.10 and $2.20 SNGs (13 so far and ITM 53% for a net profit of $4.91). In the past I have been strictly uNL cash games with moderate success.

Anywho, I have noticed I tend to fold on the button when it gets down to 3 players (top two ITM) and the chip leader is in the BB to hopefully encourage the other two to battle it out, but raise light after the chip leader folds when I'm the SB against a smaller stack in the BB. Is this sound strategy? In my cash games, I would think I'm retarded for playing like this. So far it has worked well, but may just be situation? Obviously if the smaller stack starts protecting his blinds more I would have to back off... but at these stakes is that common?

C

cotta777

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I just started playing $1.10 and $2.20 SNGs (13 so far and ITM 53% for a net profit of $4.91). In the past I have been strictly uNL cash games with moderate success.

Anywho, I have noticed I tend to fold on the button when it gets down to 3 players (top two ITM) and the chip leader is in the BB to hopefully encourage the other two to battle it out, but raise light after the chip leader folds when I'm the SB against a smaller stack in the BB. Is this sound strategy? In my cash games, I would think I'm retarded for playing like this. So far it has worked well, but may just be situation? Obviously if the smaller stack starts protecting his blinds more I would have to back off... but at these stakes is that common?

The button is your strongest spot for position which is highly effective in gaining chips when your sticking to a solid range naturally the chips are going to Tilt towards the Button over a long period of time. In which case you need to only folding your weak range of cards.

I wouldn't advise playing for the min cash whilest in Third place,