should variance affect confidence

F

frankrizzojr

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
i have been playing poker on line for about 2 yrs now. I am an ok player. making small profits playing sit and go's. I am recently coming off of a 15 game downswing , small stakes . I have noticed anytime I go through some variance my confidence takes a huge hit. is that normal ? it doesn't make me change the way I play . but every time it happens I start thinking the games are becoming tougher or that sit and gos are not as profitable as they were a couple years ago . I was just wondering what thoughts others may have when experiencing downswings? I know one thing for sure when I do hit a big downswing it makes me study away from the table , so I guess that is one good thing to come from it.

rifflemao

rifflemao

Pugs Not Drugs
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I know one thing for sure when I do hit a big downswing it makes me study away from the table , so I guess that is one good thing to come from it.

I was going to suggest studying hand histories to find out if it's variance, tilt, leaks etc, but sounds like you're already there. Downswings affect my confidence too, but shouldn't really. Jared Tendler has a couple of books that can help the downswing doldrums. I've just started his first, and I'm liking it so far.

My main thought during a downswing is I can't seem to do anything right. I played a couple of SnGs on Bovada last night. In the first, I get it in on the flop with 888 and lose to T3 when the villain turns his two pair into a better full house. Probably should have raised my midpair from early pos.

In the next one, I get it in preflop with QQ against 22 and he turns trips. Sometimes you just get clobbered and have have no option but to endure it for a while, or take a break. :dontknow:

T

The Nuder

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips