Playing against LAG 3 bettor

K

kanselau

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Need some advice on how to play against a LAG player.
Was playing in a live torney the other day and was absolutelly card dead, so was playing rather tight. As the blinds kept esculating I needed to start playing something, so I started playing marginal hands from time to time as I wasnt picking up anything at all for the past 2 hours.
The only problem was the LAG on my direct left - I had about 30BB and villain had about 50bb , everytime it folded to me in HJ CO or BTN , I would try to go for a steal with hands like Q10 A4 JQ 78s ETC these hands were like the nuts the way I was running , now everytime id raise , villain 3 bet , I made the bets at 2.5 BB and villain would 3 bet to 6-7BB. Because the hands I was raisng were marginal and I would be out of position , I would fold 90% of the time.
Ofcourse villain picked up on this and kept 3 betting every single time. So I decide to adjust and 4 bet light , his response to this was 5 bet all in .
After getting 3bet all day this hand came up about 15 min before the end of day 1
Im BTN with A6o and open to 2.5 x BB , villain in SB (Efective stack is 38 BB and has has me covered) , 3bets to 6BB , I respond with 4 Bet 13 BB, villain 5bet all in .
Reads on villain 3 bets heaps in position , showed a bluff on the river , on a 4 card to a straight board witch he 3 bet pre with 7 3 o. preety tought to play against post flop will put the pressure on.
Now I do realise that I shouldnt realy 4 bet a third of my stack and fold to a 5 bet , but this guy was seriously taking the piss with the 3bets , and my thinking was at the time , if I 4 bet to 13BB he cant really flat OOP , I put him in a situation where he either folds or re raises all in . If he decides to 5 bet and I call his stack is really crippeld, and at day one almost over I dont think he wants to risk his tornament life.