Middle and end-stages of SNG

ElmarLCH

ElmarLCH

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi guys,

Lately I started playing some SNG, as a way to not bore me out grinding cash games. The problem I have is that most of the time I start as one of the top stacks until the other are going to allin/fold. I don't know how to survive this phase, cuz I find myself in a lot of coin flips situation, which I lose more often than win ;).

Example: 3,50 (45 players) SNG.
After 45 minutes I had a stack of 4000 and was stack leader.
The average stack was about 1800 and the blinds just went up to 75/150.
In this phase it is either push or fold for all of the low stacks (which are 6 or 7 out of the 9 players on the table). I just don't know what to do here. On the one hand I want to play hands and see flops, although I know it is not possible. On the other hand I just tried to wait for good cards and call the all-ins off. Like I mentioned earlier, I roll into a lot of coin flips (my AQ against other mid pairs etc).

What do you guys think is the right way to win such tournaments when I'm off on a good start with a relative large stack?

My initial thought is as follows, although it seems like I will just give up the lead I have:
Play even tighter than AQ-AJ range of hands and take the risk of becoming an average stack again due to the high blinds.

Thanks in advance,
ElmarLCH

Sil3ntness

Sil3ntness

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I use to be a cash game player. That was one of my biggest problems was transitioning to the turbo & hyper turbo mindset of playing. You will have to open up your hand range as the blinds & antes rises (something you don't have to worry about in a cash game).