Identifying Stages of a Tournament?

R

rako32

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Sorry if this a noob question, but I've been playing NLHE Poker only for a few months. I'm currently trying to read all the free information available online and learn as much as possible the strategies involved in becoming a successful MTT Player. Don't really plan on ever getting into cash games.

Basically, how do I exactly identify the middle stage and late stages of a tournament? Is it done based on blind structure? or based on the player field? For instance if its a 5,000 max player freeroll tourney, at what point do I realize that, OK now we're in the middle stages or in the late stages etc..?

Strategy articles I've read says to loosen up or tighten up according to the various stages of a tournament, but I'm really struggling to identify those appropriately. :eek: Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Salvete777

Salvete777

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
If we talk about freeroll - In my opinion there late stages start's when all sitting out players are knocked out.

Diogo Jorge

Diogo Jorge

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
In my opinion middle stage begins when the tourney has 30-50% of the people playing, while late stage begins when you have 10 -15% of them that means peeople ITM! But it depends how much big is the tourney.

A

aina27

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
If we talk about freeroll - In my opinion there late stages start's when all sitting out players are knocked out.

H

hffjd2000

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I believe its base on blind structure.

If you see many are not desperate base on blinds over stacks, then that would be early and middle stages.

If you see left and right shoving base on blinds over stacks, then your now entering the late stages.

Henry Minute

Henry Minute

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips