Another half-bet rule and raise question.
The game is a NL Hold ‘em tournament.
The blinds are $100 and $100 (1st level of play), one player raises $200 to $300 total. Another player, without vocalizing anything, mistakenly throws in 5 $100 chips in the same forward motion. Is this a raise to $500? The dealer told me“no because it would be a string raise” – that’s when I called the floor. The floor ruled no and allowed player #2 to take back $200 and simply call the original raise.
I guess a better way for this hand to play out with consideration to the half-bet rule is if the second raiser had thrown 4 $100 chips into the pot with no vocal action – would that be halfway to a legal raise and thus count as a re-raise to $500?
I believe that it was a legal re-raise in this situation. As far as the hypothetical 4 $100 chips part, I don’t know for sure but again think that it is a re-raise to$500. Clarification would be nice; I thought I was going insane when the floor allowed a call.