How to improve at poker?

Jollocks

Jollocks

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi, I've been playing poker for about 4 months but I took a break for a month. I came back about a week or two ago, and I know overall i'm a terrible player, and can't beat 2NL. I want to improve, what are some top tips for me to improve as a player and beat these stakes so I can build my roll?

n3rv

n3rv

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Fold a lot. Stop bluffing. If you think you might be behind, you probably are. Make rational decisions based on the cards you have, the money in the pot, and what your opponents are doing. Never play with any more than 5% of your bankroll. If you are playing bad, quit. If you are emotionally involved, quit.

Study any hands you lose and work out why you lost them and how you won't lose them again. Equally study how the best players at the table keep winning. Do what they do when you have similar hands in similar situations...

Jollocks

Jollocks

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Fold a lot. Stop bluffing. If you think you might be behind, you probably are. Make rational decisions based on the cards you have, the money in the pot, and what your opponents are doing. Never play with any more than 5% of your bankroll. If you are playing bad, quit. If you are emotionally involved, quit.

Study any hands you lose and work out why you lost them and how you won't lose them again. Equally study how the best players at the table keep winning. Do what they do when you have similar hands in similar situations...

Cheers mate, will do!

abzdolc

abzdolc

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
use calculators to decide what to do in situations with dro, opp 3 bet , who you are playing vs ( style ) and range of his hand

NoWuckingFurries

NoWuckingFurries

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips