Considering making a living from Poker

T

TheLulham

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
There is a lot from skimming poker threads on this topic of experienced players telling aspiring Poker Professionals don't try and become a professional, its too difficult, pursue it alongside a part-time job / education. Or quit dreams like this entirely.

I totally agree with not putting all your eggs in one basket financially but, I solidly believe that to have any chance of making it in Poker you must completely and utterly immerse yourself in it - live, sleep, breath it. Play, read books, review hands, watch tutorials, discuss with other players for umpteen hours a week. 60 hour weeks.

I am in my early twenties I graduated from university, studying linguistics. I am at a crossroads in my life where I am looking for a new career. I have a strong interest with accumulating a large amount of money over the space of several years in order to be decently wealthy ( a few hundred thousand) and capable of buying property etc.

I have not fully researched career options but, with most careers and working for an employer involves many many years of hard work. Which to enjoy the lifestyle I would like you will have to wait until you are old. I'm not being ageist but, I want to start enjoying that lifestyle now while I am a young man.