Becoming a winning player

Jollocks

Jollocks

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hey CC, I've been playing poker for about a month, and I'm terrible to be honest. However, I love the game and want to improve and become a winning player. I just started studying my first poker book: Internet hold 'em, by Mathew Hilger, it's a good book and I've learned quite a bit from it like how to calculate outs, pot odds and implied pot odds, however, a lot of the time I forget to implement these things into my game. Is their any advice for me to become a winning player? Any book/video recommendations?

Thanks.

crocoduck11

crocoduck11

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hey CC, I've been playing poker for about a month, and I'm terrible to be honest. However, I love the game and want to improve and become a winning player. I just started studying my first poker book: Internet hold 'em, by Mathew Hilger, it's a good book and I've learned quite a bit from it like how to calculate outs, pot odds and implied pot odds, however, a lot of the time I forget to implement these things into my game. Is their any advice for me to become a winning player? Any book/video recommendations?

Thanks.

I am in the same spot as you except I am playing once every few days and reading/watching videos during the rest + 1-2 days of time to relax (basically not poker time ) once a week
I think what we need to do is not to play fancy (at our level, until we get the fundamentals ) and try to get the basics right. For example one MAJOR leak of mine was starting hand range. I simply had no idea how bad it was and in how many situations I simply didn't have the experience to handle it had put me trough. Since I've adjusted my range I feel much more secure. A friend of mine also tried this with similar results.
Daniel Negreanu has also written some books and he's a big pro so maybe you should check them. He also has video lessons on youtube so check those out too.