A 2-5 suited: how strong is it?

O

OniGamer

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I tend to play A2-A5 suited a lot because i see it as a suited connector along with the benefit of having an ace. I usually bet it the same way I would bet A10-AK suited. In 9 player games I'm not quite as loose with this hand but 6-max and below I will play it almost every time. Is it correct to do this?

Thanks.

AlfieAA

AlfieAA

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
i do the same, im just learning the game but having any suited ace i atleast call to see the flop...if i dont hit the flush draw i fold....although if i was short stacked maybe i would raine it in abit and wait for more premium, but on a good stack the curiosity gets the better of me haha

Ducky7

Ducky7

Cardschat Elite
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
The deeper you are the more you can justify playing this hand full ring, only because of the fact you can hit the nut flush. Even then i wouldnt play it from OOP because when you hit an Ace you never really know where you are in the hand and it will put you in terrible spots. So from full ring (9 players) i will only ever play this hand if it is folded round to me in the HJ or CO.

6 Max you can justify opening an Ace from any position. In tournaments when the antes are in play i would then open Axs from any position because you can steal the blinds, but again when playing cash i would only play it in position looking to make the nut flush or a wheel (so again we need to be deepstacked)

4 players or less - We open any Ace anytime :)

GL

AlfieAA

AlfieAA

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
what does OOP, HJ and CO mean?

honeycrush

honeycrush

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
what does OOP, HJ and CO mean?

OOP stands for "out of position" - so you act first in the round of betting and don't know what your opponent will do - so you are at a disadvantage.

HJ stands for "Hi-Jack"is 2 seats before the button (BTN)