Staking and backing

ChuckTs

ChuckTs

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Getting a staker/sponsor/backer is something I never really learned much about and want to know if anyone here has experience being either the staker or the stakee, and if they want to share the ins and outs.

From what I understand a stake is basically when someone backs a player and give him a buyin or multiple buyins into tourneys, and any money the player wins is split 50/50 between the staker and the player (right?).

What is stakeback, though, and how does it work?

Also, is backing/staking generally done differently with rings vs tourneys?

Any info would be appreciated; schatzdog recently PM'ed me after my 'last leg' blog post, and I've been thinking about getting a backer if possible if it's worth it for me. I honestly can't really see how it would for me right now; I'm not really a profitable player above the $15 level, I don't play a high volume of games or multitable, and getting %50 of a measly ~$50 for the occasional first place in a STT really doesn't appeal to me...

Anyways, any info, links or even personal experience would be very much appreciated.

A

ArmadilloTrim

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Ill tell you what ive learned from years in actuall card rooms, not online. I dont know much about staking online.
You only accept a stake if loosing is on the staker. So, if you are given $500 to play with, if you win, you each take 50%, if you loose, you dont owe. Otherwise, its not a stake, its a LOAN. and a poker loan can be as bad as borrowing from the mafia. Staking is basicaly for full time players, that make their living playing, and are very confident in their ability to win.
You say your not too profitable at med/high levels, so at this point, a stake is not really productive. And anyway, usually someone will only be staked if they have lost their bankroll, and need a wealthy beneficiary that knows they are talented to get them started again.