Retirement hobby

fubarcdn

fubarcdn

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I started playing online poker as a retirement hobby in 2003 when it started to become popullar and I was living in a small city where there wasn't much else to do. I quit when I moved back to Toronto where there are better things to do in the day than play poker but now I am back in a smaller city and back to playing.
I don't really make any money playing but I don't lose any either and it is better than playing with model trains or gardening.
Is there anyone else that is retired and plays as a hobby?

nc_royals

nc_royals

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Not ready for retirement yet but I have reached my 40s. The one thing Ive noticed as Ive gotten older is I have less desire to sit at a MTT for 5 or 6 hours. I still like tourneys but I usually play Turbos or Sit N Gos.
Do you find that you still have the same passion for the game that you did 10 years ago?

fubarcdn

fubarcdn

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
It has become more or less something to kill time as sad as that sounds.
It keeps me out of the bars so that is good according to my wife.
I retired early (37) from some stock gains, mostly now long gone tech stocks with the exception of Microsoft.
I usually play the micro limit NL holdem so can just jump in and out between other things. I also play the poker stars privledge freerolls and in the Poker Stars PSO league. Both can be long games but they are kind of fun. I have never won one of either in the 10or so years but I want to.

C

cotta777

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I think it's a great retirement hobbie,

Since its a non physical game you can enjoy just as much as a twenty something or a younger guy.

I definately feel poker will replace any physical hobbies I do as I get older

pokertroll

pokertroll

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Retirement is great-Travel,Get exercise and play some poker in moderation.

PapaC

PapaC

Legend