Poker Forum - Register
Learn to win at online poker at US Poker Sites with our free full tilt poker referral code. Play the best poker online with a pokerstars marketing code that will get you free money for online poker games at your favourite site.
Titan Poker Party Poker Bodog Pacific Poker
Go Back   Poker Forum > Poker Message Boards > General Poker
Search
SEARCH THE ONLINE POKER FORUMS  

Online Poker Forum
Reply
  Poker - Poker Sites Harmful To Your Computer
 
  #1  
08-02-2006, 3:36 PM
t1riel
Beware Of The Shortstack!
 
Location: Massachusetts
Plays at: Not Banned
Likes: Holdem/Hi-Lo
Posts: 5,421
Poker Sites Harmful To Your Computer

I was talking to my stepfather the other day. He works for a software company. He was telling me that some poker sites that you download their program take the majority of your CPU usage and sell them to other sites. The sites who buy it either flood it with pop up advertisements or install a "worm" into your computer which causes various problems that cannot be easily fixed. Anybody hear about this? If it's true (and I won't be surprised if it is), we should be careful on which poker sites to download. I told my stepfather I stick to the poker sites this site has a link too since it's the source of poker information I trust.
 

PPParty Poker is probably the best known online poker room. Use the Party Poker bonus code CC500 for a 100% upto $500 deposit bonus.

Pacific PokerPacific Poker is the poker room for 888.com casino and is still a favourite, especially amongst new players. They recently updated their software with a sleek and smooth new look which is much better to play.

  #2  
08-02-2006, 3:47 PM
talkpkr2me
CardsChat Elite
 
Location: Buckeye Country!
Plays at: Cake
Likes: Limit Holdem
Posts: 831
I'm quite sure that's true. When my internet security program runs a scan it always lists Pacific Poker as adware/spyware..Still have it downloaded though,so far it hasn't caused any problems ( that i know of )! So yep, I don't doubt it one bit!!!!
  #3  
08-02-2006, 6:56 PM
osirisdean
Junior Member
 
Location: atlanta, ga
Plays at: party poker
Likes: O8, NLH
Posts: 34
if youre really worried about this, you can always run msconfig (on win98 and xp; 2000 and NT dont have msconfig) and see whats running in the background and turn them off selectively, or try to uninstall them manually.

i have a tachometer on my pc and ive never notice it spike and stay at high rpms when i play partypoker. i cant vouch for other sites, though.
  #4  
08-02-2006, 8:37 PM
Count DeMoney
Advanced Member
 
Location: Southern California
Plays at: Ultimatebet & Party
Posts: 112
I've never noticed a problem while playing, nor does Symantec Virus Scan report any of my poker software (Party, Ultimatebet, PokerStarts, FCP, FTP and Doyle's Room) as a virus or spyware candidate. Don't have Pacific Poker though.

Oh yeah no report for Bodog too. Forgot I'm a degenerate!
  #5  
08-02-2006, 9:37 PM
Jesse
New Member
 
Likes: Hold'em
Posts: 12
Never had a problem here. I stick to PartyPoker, PokerRoom, and PokerStars usually.
  #6  
09-02-2006, 1:21 AM
Freakakanus
<-------Tilting
 
Location: Reno,Nv
Plays at: PokerStars
Likes: NL Holdem
Posts: 3,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by talkpkr2me
I'm quite sure that's true. When my internet security program runs a scan it always lists Pacific Poker as adware/spyware..Still have it downloaded though,so far it hasn't caused any problems ( that i know of )! So yep, I don't doubt it one bit!!!!
Spybot always lists Golden Palace as adware/spyware. I deleted GP a long time ago, but something is still in my system. I don't have any problems though so who knows what's up with that.
  #7  
09-02-2006, 6:00 AM
smd173
CardsChat Elite
 
Plays at: PokerStars
Likes: Razz
Posts: 873
Someday in the future we'll all have to have 2 PCs. One for important personal stuff that will never be connected to the Net and one that has a few worms and viruses on it.
  #8  
09-02-2006, 2:51 PM
DESSERTLADY
CardsChat Elite
 
Location: Oklahoma
Plays at: Ultimatebet
Likes: NL & O h/l
Posts: 2,902
I have to agree with your Stepfather. I am always getting microgaming in my adware/spyware scans, Golden Palace etc...........

Funny thing is when I had my computer problems back last summer, it was Noble most likely said the computer shop guy that "Helped" in the crash of the system.
Hmmmmmm you would think these Goobers that design the poker software/and the site owners would understand if their software makes the computer crash and not work that WE Players can't play on the sites to win or LOSE money! so in other words NO WORKY NO MONEY!
  #9  
09-02-2006, 3:48 PM
osirisdean
Junior Member
 
Location: atlanta, ga
Plays at: party poker
Likes: O8, NLH
Posts: 34
i would hazard a guess to say that gambling sites/online casino sites would be more likely to contain spy/adware than a straight-up poker site. also, any site that isnt one of the "biggies" (eg: pokerstars, partypoker, ultimatebet) is also more likely to be sketchy.
 

« Previous A few questions about Titan    Pot Odds Next »



Sportsbook Poker
ACCEPTS US PLAYERS - CREDIT CARD DEPOSITS - $1000 BONUS

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 7:16 AM.


Sitemap: General

Copyscape   Poker En Ligne Online Poker Poker Online
Carbon Poker Coupon Code - All original site contents ©Cardschat.com 2004-2008. Reproduction is prohibited.