Poker Books

B

bennbfc

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
which books do you lot recommend as ive heard harringtons are ok but what do you think.

thanks!

Lo-Dog

Lo-Dog

Cardschat Elite
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Probably lose respect among my peers here but I have not read Harrington on Holdem.:eek: :p

However many, many folks on here say all three volumes are excellent and I will pick them up soon for sure.

Of the books I have read, Phil Gordon's Little Green Book was really good. Its pretty short but sweet and is very easy to understand as long as you are not a complete newbie.

I am sure others will chime in with their thoughts but this will get the ball rolling.:D

JeeDub84

JeeDub84

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I will agree on Phil Gordons book. It is an easy reading book that has simple explanations that all can understand. I actually use his book as a refresher book because of the easy and informative sections. The Harrington books are good because they go into examples which make you think about what is going on in a hand and makes you use your own thought process too. Other than those the first thing to come in mind would be any one of Sklansky's books. Very informative with lots of detailed info.

t1riel

t1riel

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
It depends what game you want to improve on (stud? hold em? tournament style? cash game?).

Kenzie 96

Kenzie 96

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
US
Chips
Slansky's Theory of Poker is a good one to get started with + there is a discussion thread on that particular book you can reference.

Marklar

Marklar

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
The first and only book I've read, so far, is

"Illustrated Guide To Texas Hold'em: Making Winners Out Of Beginners and Advanced Players" by Dennis Purdy.