Is Online Poker preparation for Live Poker?

Degnovic

Degnovic

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
This is a question I've been thinking about for quite some time. I'm not sure how do exactly explain it, so feel free to ask, if you don't understand.

When I first started playing poker (I write a little about it here), it was live poker that got me hooked. Not because I played it myself, but because I watched the WPT's on TV.

I soon found out about online poker, but still it was live poker that I considered the real thing and what I really wanted to play. However, when I started playing online poker was of course the easy way to play poker, but I wanted it to be the preparation for when I started playing live poker. I hoped to make some money on online poker, but only so I could use them on buying into different live tourneys or qualifying for them.

Also in the start I didn't have the time to play live poker due to school, so that's where the above came in.

This is written a bit confusing and I apologize for that, but do you feel the same way? Is any of you enjoying online poker for than live poker, and if live poker was as easy and accessible as online poker, would you still play online?

fletchdad

fletchdad

Jammin................
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I am quite interested in playing more live, but have done very little of it so far, so I cant answer your question. But I have read quite a bit of stuff that states they are totally different.

I play maybe 2000 hands a day at the moment in cash games, and that would be obv. impossible live.

Target is 3-4x that volume by Fall.

L

LarryT503

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I feel online is practice for live, especially for me in "knowing" what kind of cards I want to bet and learning to play "head" poker instead of "heart" poker. I don't get to play live often, so tended to play too loose when I got an opportunity to play.

duggs

duggs

Killing me softly
Silver Level
Total posts