Living on poker.

bricht

bricht

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi! How realistic is it to get at least ~ 500$ a month from playing poker about 4 hours a day, 6 days/week? What stakes would I have to play? Im a student and I'm sick of shit part-time jobs. Right now I'm just learning and grinding slowly at 2NL on 888, so my dream is to be able to rely mostly on poker for my income. Right now all I have is a 15.6in laptop and I dont think that more than 6 tables will fit on my screen. I play ~550 hands per session(~2h) and after 9k hands(yes, a tiny sample) I have a winrate of 22BB/h.
You might call me a dreamer... but hey, it's a goal right?

Last edited:
micromachine

micromachine

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
You could probably make about $500/month playing 10nl for that many hours with a 5BB/100+ winrate. Easier said than done though.

Vollycat

Vollycat

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Dear Dreamer,

Keep the part-time job.

Don't mean to be mean, but you just need a bit more (read that as, a lot) time under your belt. Watch your game carefully and continue to learn.

With time you can find that poker will add some extra income but in the mean time do not quite any job for it. Old school rule of thumb...6 months winning in a row covering your nut, and 3 months of fully paid bills in the bank. Then and only then start to THINK about quitting any job for poker.

Best of luck.

bricht

bricht

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
You could probably make about $500/month playing 10nl for that many hours with a 5BB/100+ winrate. Easier said than done though.

Already starting to rub my hands :)

Dear Dreamer,

Keep the part-time job.

Don't mean to be mean, but you just need a bit more (read that as, a lot) time under your belt. Watch your game carefully and continue to learn.