Idol or just gambler?

westside1950

westside1950

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I've read lately a text from Viktor Blom (Isildur) about his poker beginnings and it got me thinking.,
Long story short: At one point he had around 2k$ on his account and he decided to play 300$ SNGs, and after he won a few, he moved up on to the 500$ (like, wtf??), took some bad beats and went busto in the end of that night.
Then he tought about it for weeks, again and again, and then decided to give it one last shot (with the same tactics) and he managed to succed.

Many players today idolize him (and similar players like Dwan,Hansen,Sahamies..), but for me what he did was just pure gamble and luck.
Okay, today we can say that he is one of the most skilled players out there, but what if he busted that other time? How many potenitally great players busted their poker careers playing like that and remanied unknown?

I remember when I started playing on PS; I grinded my way from NL2,NL5 to NL10. I played for months on NL2 and NL5 until I finally made nice profit playing and when I considered I cracked them I decided to move up the stakes.
For me, true pro worth admiring is some who grinded his way up from the lowest stakes;
not someone who took a gambles like this thinking: '' I'll take another 1k and it's my final shot''

Kenzie 96

Kenzie 96

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
US
Chips
People see what they want to see, for every Blom there are countless players who piss it away with bad decisions & bad play, then blame rigged poker. Most don't want to dream about slow, steady & smart. Boring, maybe, but effective.

D

donkcentralFF

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Poker involves gambling... Idk if this should be seen as a huge gamble or simply having confidence in his ability to play the game

A

alexis8888

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
It's wise to learn from others' mistakes.

P

pain_pain_go_away

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips