How do these players manage to go through the ranks with such bad BR management?

R

RamdeeBen

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hello, I was reading a couple of poker stories of pro players and how they started.

There are plenty with a story like this, duuur included but the two main ones I'm on about are "URnotindanger" and "jungleman"

This is a quote from URnotindanger:

"I started playing poker when I was 15 years old with friends from soccer. We played $10/$20 twenty-person tournaments where I won the first four. I played live $1/$2 cash games around 2-4 times a week until I was 18. I got $90 online from a friend and within the first month I moved up from $.25/$.50 to $2/$4. A year and half later, I was playing $100/$200."

Now, I'm quite a BR nit but I'm wondering if it's holding me back and maybe other players because of how important BR management is. Now looking at what he plays, this is HU and 6max. This gives him only 1.5 buy-ins with lets be honest a very high variance form of holdem. This seems quite difficult and next to impossible in FULL RING let alone 6max and HU. These guys every hand they got involved must of ran so hot and never folded and basically won every pot!

Obviously people will say this is a very aggressive approach to BR management, but there's aggressive and then there's just short term luck factors. I'm guessing he must of get extremely lucky not to bust his role as we all know that 1.5buy-ins is just basically like throwing your money down the drain many times over or is it because he knew he was so good and knew he wouldn't bust?

The same applies to JungleMan, he started with even less, $50.00 and played with one buy-in and now has managed to turn that into 5million. I just didn't think no matter HOW good you are that this was even possible even though it's proven it is! What is going on lol.