Financial Traders and Poker

T

Tomhgriff1

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi all,

Am new to the forum and pretty new to poker.

I am futures trader by profession, primarily trading European bonds. The reason for starting to take an interest in poker is its widely regarded in my industry that poker players make fantastic traders and vice versa. In fact my company has recently hired a couple of trainees based on their poker success, (both of them early twenties and have won 6 figure sums over the past couple of years playing online poker).

Essentially it uses the same skills, it seems, you develop an edge that overtime adds to your bottom line and you use money management and discipline to make sure you give yourself chance for that mathematical edge to play out.

This got me researching online poker a little bit more and am pretty much hooked now (even though im yet to learn much beyond the basic rules).

My question is, did these "kids" that seem to do really well over the past 5 years or so, just get lucky and manage to ride the wave of dumb money hooking up to the internet and playing around on poker sites or is it something that is still being replicated today? From looking around on various forums it seems so many people are hooking their game up to computers that work out betting patterns/probabilities etc etc. All sounds great, but is the game just saturated now and are new guys just going to get bled dry from computers and ultra competitive play? Or is there still room for new guys to get involved/learn and who knows maybe make something?

Thanks

T

Trimming1

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
close analogy