| This is a discussion on Look for the "Play It Safe" Seal at your site within the online poker forums, in the Poker Rooms section; eCOGRA is a non-profit, self-regulatory body for the online gaming industry. If you come across cash out issues or any other problems you can turn ... |
| | ||||||
![]() |
| |
|
#1 | ||||
| ||||
| Look for the "Play It Safe" Seal at your site eCOGRA is a non-profit, self-regulatory body for the online gaming industry. If you come across cash out issues or any other problems you can turn to them for help. All you have to do before playing is look for the eCOGRA "Play It Safe" seal at your casino because the sites that feature that seal have to comply with eCOGRA's rules and standards. You can find the list of approved sites on the eCOGRA offical site: eCOGRA . org |
| Play Texas Hold'em Online Poker | Look for the "Play It Safe" Seal at your site | |
|
|
|
#4 | ||||
| ||||
| So Riverbelle Poker, Trident Poker and 3 Piggs Poker (wtf!) are "approved" sites, but Pokerstars, Full Tilt and Party Poker aren't? I note sites have got to pay a "fee" to be approved. What a load of bull. |
|
#5 | ||||
| ||||
| re: Look for the "Play It Safe" Seal at your site poker Here's some more information about eCOGRA: Quote:
|
|
#6 | ||||
| ||||
| Quote:
Someone's got it! on a side note, if anyone would like a "Fish Seal of Approval" icon to post on their website, blog, pokersite, or even a bumpersticker, I can provide this service to you as long as you adhere to my strict standards. STANDARDS 1. Send $50 to me. 2. That is all. |
|
#9 | ||||
| ||||
| From an eCOGRA member of staff: "I had a look at the recent posts and interesting to see that there's a perception that sites need to pay a fee to be approved, however I'm not sure where the person got this idea. We don't receive anything from the sites, so whether we approve 1 or 100 sites it makes no difference to us from afinancial perspective. We're genuinely in place for the players' protection." |
|
#10 | ||||
| ||||
| re: Look for the "Play It Safe" Seal at your site poker Quote:
Item number 10 on their Membership Process. Maybe i'm just a cynic like Fish, but as far as i'm aware, Poker players have no legal recourse to regain money that is owed to them by Poker sites. If a new player had concerns about this and asked me for advice re a site to play on, I would advise they stick to a) a large established site like Pokerstars or Full Tilt, b) a limited company - Party Poker or c) a site backed by an established and respected bookmaker - Ladrokes, William Hill, Victor Chandler. I wouldn't recommend that they deposit to 3 Piggs Poker, regardless of whether they have received accreditation from eCOGRA. OK they can offer mediation and assistance, but they offer no protection to money, nor do they (please correct me if i'm wrong) investigate the financial stability of these sites. Again, if i'm wrong then i'll apologise, but in my eyes and until i'm convinced otherwise, the eCOGRA seal of approval carries as much weight as the Fish seal of approval. (N.B most of the sites shown as accredited are prima sites - can we read anything into this?). |
|
#11 | ||||
| ||||
| From Andrew @ eCOGRA: "We're funded by our members which are software providers, not by the approved sites. Our website explains this clearly. We certainly do investigate the financial stability of these sites - auditors PwC regularly visit these operations and reports back to our independent directors. PwC also monitors their performance on a continual basis (they have access to every single game and financial transaction). And lastly, various eCOGRA approved operators are listed entities (including 888.com and Betandwin)." |
|
#12 | ||||
| ||||
| Quote:
Sorry Nick, if you're in contact with Andrew again, can you ask him a) why 888.com and Betandwin aren't shown on the list of approved sites? b) why the big boys - Pokerstars, Party Poker etc aren't accredited? and c) whether any sites have failed to get eCOGRA's approval (if not, why not, if yes, why aren't they shown on site?). |
|
#13 | ||||
| ||||
| Nick sir, no offence but it appears you've been taken in by a giant load of horse crap. I haven't even looked at the site, I just need to look at the OP to see that it's nonsense. Quote:
So this is either (a) an incredibly crap attempt at self-promotion, or (b) some kind of build-up to a scam. Probably (a). Maybe that topp44 guy was onto something with his Prima bashing! Last edited by Dorkus Malorkus : 6th May 2006 at 2:56 AM. |
|
#14 | ||||
| ||||
| This disclaimer is at the bottom of their online "certifications": Quote:
|
|
#15 | ||||
| ||||
| re: Look for the "Play It Safe" Seal at your site poker eCOGRA is an oragnization that is advocates for players. It has and does successfully advocate for the online player and have had funds returned to players when they were wrongly withheld on eCOGRA certified sites. The organization has been around for three years and works extensively to provide a free dispute resolution service for online gamers. Entire gaming jurisdictions approve of eCOGRA's standards and some have waived regulation requirements for online gaming venues that are eCOGRA certified. That means that these standards meet and even exceed government regulations in numerous jurisdictions. Card rooms and casinos that are certified undergo extensive testing by independent auditing companies. The seal is a symbol of ongoing site monitoring and indicates that that site is dedicated to fair gaming, player protection and responsible operator conduct. |
|
#16 | ||||
| ||||
| i play a lot of sites and none are listed as approved, why is party poker, pokerstars, paradise poker, cdpoker, sbg and others not approved some are listed on the london stock exchange and i;ve never had a problem cashing out of any of them. |
Number of Posts: 16
Number of Authors: 8