Did anyone get this e-mail besides me? Scam?

This is a discussion on Did anyone get this e-mail besides me? Scam? within the online poker forums, in the Poker Rooms section; Dear PokerStars Player, Thank you very much for choosing PokerStars as your place to play poker. We hope that you are enjoying your experience. As ...
Poker Forum - Register
Download & play online poker + win money at Poker Games - your favorite card game. From the USA? Get a bonus at US Poker Sites for the best poker rooms like a Full Tilt Referral Codes, code de parrainage full tilt poker, full tilt poker referenzcode, party poker bonus code or Pokerstars Marketing Code exclusively at this poker site.
Titan Poker Party Poker Bonus Codes Bodog Pacific Poker
Online Poker   Poker Forum > Poker Discussion > Poker Rooms
SEARCH THE ONLINE POKER FORUMS  


Online Poker Forum

Read our poker sites & US poker sites guides to find the best online poker rooms!
: Did you get this?
Yes and it looks legit 1 20.00%
yes but it looks like a scam 0 0%
No and it looks like a scam 0 0%
no but it looks legit 4 80.00%
Voters: 5. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
 
  #1
22nd October 2006, 11:44 PM
mischman
 
Online Poker at: PokerStars
Did anyone get this e-mail besides me? Scam?

Dear PokerStars Player,

Thank you very much for choosing PokerStars as your place to play poker. We
hope that you are enjoying your experience.

As part of our efforts to continually improve PokerStars, we would like to
request your feedback by participating in a brief survey. The survey can be
found at:

http://www.zoomerang.com/survey.zgi?p=WEB225S8EQ5BXP

This should take no more than ten minutes to complete.

Your inputs are very valuable. As a Thank You for your response, we would
like to give you 500 Frequent Player Points (FPPs) that can help you to
qualify for a wide range of rewards. Please respond no later than October
25th to qualify for your reward. FPPs will be credited to your account
within 48 hours of the close of this survey.

Thank you,

Player Relationship Marketing
PokerStars.com

P.S. You do not need to include your user ID to qualify as this email
address is linked to your account. We would also like to remind you to NEVER
give out your password.


1470 Rte 138, Kahnawake Mohawk Territory, Quebec, Canada, J0L 1B0
================================================== ======================
Play Texas Hold'em Online Poker | Did anyone get this e-mail besides me? Scam?

PokerStarsPokerStars is one of the best sites to play online poker. They accept US players & using PokerStars marketing code CARDSCHAT you get a $600 bonus.

www.Bodog.comwww.Bodog.com is the best known US sports book and their poker room has grown rapidly over the last year to be one of the top destinations especially for US players.

  #2
22nd October 2006, 11:58 PM
robwhufc
 
Really need a poll for this? Go to zoomerang.com and see what you think (that's a pretty slick site for a "scam").
  #3
23rd October 2006, 12:23 AM
Dorkus Malorkus
 
Online Poker at: Stars
Game: yes
Mail their support and ask if it's legit?
  #4
23rd October 2006, 12:48 AM
Jack Daniels
 
Poker at: home.
Game: Da Bears
re: Did anyone get this e-mail besides me? Scam? poker

Zoomerang is a legit site used for conducting online surveys. You can e-mail support to be safe and confirm, but you should be okay here. Plus, they aren't asking for your personal info or anything.

There is a unique web ID that they are using for tracking but is meaningless to anyone outside of zoomerang. Most likely, the ID you have means nothing to zoomerang either. They will use that ID to collect your responses and will send that ID to Stars so Stars will know who to credit the FPPs to. Stars may not even get the answers you provided. Those may be tracked in aggregate.

If this was a scam or spoof, I would expect the link to take you anywhere but the actual website. That's pretty common with phishing. The link will say www.paypal.com, but when you click it the actual URL it takes you to would often be something like http://123.456.789.012/paypal/verify. That's why people fall for phishing. They see paypal in the phony URL and don't give it another thought.
  #5
23rd October 2006, 2:06 AM
mischman
 
Online Poker at: PokerStars
Quote:
Originally Posted by robwhufc
Really need a poll for this? Go to zoomerang.com and see what you think (that's a pretty slick site for a "scam").

Do you really need to reply to this and be your usual jerky self? What pokersite e-mails telling you to click a link? I started taking it and then it asks fr your username when the e-mail says you dotn need it!

Last edited by mischman : 23rd October 2006 at 2:16 AM.
  #6
23rd October 2006, 2:25 AM
shinedown.45
 
Poker at: pokerstars
Game: hold-em
Quote:
Originally Posted by mischman
Do you really need to reply to this and be your usual jerky self? What pokersite e-mails telling you to click a link? I started taking it and then it asks fr your username when the e-mail says you dotn need it!
contact support and ask if it's ligit
  #7
6th July 2007, 8:30 PM
titans4ever
 
Online Poker at: Live, PS, FT
Game: PL&NL Holdem
I just got this today when I opened PS for 200 FPP.

I know this an old thread but nobody ever said if it was legit.
  #8
6th July 2007, 8:34 PM
mischman
 
Poker at: PokerStars
re: Did anyone get this e-mail besides me? Scam? poker

(stop digging up threads from when i was a stupid newb?)

Yes, its legit. I didnt take it but theres like 4736473 threads on 2+2 saying its fine.
  #9
6th July 2007, 8:36 PM
MrSticker
 
Online Poker at: PokerStars
Game: Yes, I am
Quote:
Originally Posted by mischman
Do you really need to reply to this and be your usual jerky self? What pokersite e-mails telling you to click a link? I started taking it and then it asks fr your username when the e-mail says you dotn need it!
Misch, I think they mean your ZOOMERANG username. They want you to create a Zoomerang account. My wife has been using Zoomerang for years and they are very legit. Like has been said, your best bet is to email support for the final word.

EDIT: oops. Time overlap.
  #10
6th July 2007, 8:44 PM
titans4ever
 
Poker at: Live, PS, FT
Game: PL&NL Holdem
Quote:
Originally Posted by mischman
(stop digging up threads from when i was a stupid newb?)

Yes, its legit. I didnt take it but theres like 4736473 threads on 2+2 saying its fine.
Did I not premise this with "I know this is old". Did not think I needed to start a new thread. The I just get yelled at for not looking up things first.

This thread has everything I wanted to see except an answer to your first question. So now I am the stupid one , not you.

Sorry, I don't surf 2+2. I barely have time to look at all the stuff posted here.
  #11
6th July 2007, 8:49 PM
mischman
 
Online Poker at: PokerStars
<3 Titan

its legit
  #12
6th July 2007, 8:58 PM
MrSticker
 
Poker at: PokerStars
Game: Yes, I am
re: Did anyone get this e-mail besides me? Scam? poker

Oh jeez. I didn't see the original date, either. I suck today.
  #13
8th July 2007, 2:27 PM
AnnoDomino
 
Online Poker at: stars
i had this as a pop up when i last logged on stars, not as an email

but it only offered me 200 fpp :-(
 



Similar Threads for: Texas Hold'em Poker > Did anyone get this e-mail besides me? Scam?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mail from pokerstars golflove21 Poker Rooms 1 17th December 2008 3:14 AM


Players Only Poker
DEPOSIT USING CREDIT CARDS - GET A $1000 BONUS - US FRIENDLY SITE!

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 3:47 AM.



Poker Sites
Copyscape   Poker En Ligne Online Poker Poker Online
All original site contents ©Cardschat.com 2004-2010. Reproduction is prohibited.